Glenmanus Reformed Presbyterian Church was opened for worship in 1899 as the ‘labour of love’ of Mr. Samuel Patton, who was a mill owner and farmer in Glenmanus who sold his goods in Portrush. After being denied land in the town centre by the Earl of Antrim, he decided to build the church on his own land. A curious church building with pretensions to architectural refinement. Round headed windows are decorated with pediments and a square tower in a vague classical style rises at the east end of the main building. Externally it has a harled finish with smooth cement surrounds and left undecorated.
It was a unique case in that the church was built before it had a congregation. Many feared it wouldn’t be able to attract anyone, as at the time the nearest housing was at the Railway Station in Portrush – not like the busy junction it is at today! Nevertheless it survived and even thrived and is still actively involved in the Portrush Community today with outreach and a Holiday Bible Club as well as weekly services.